Ogun State
Osun State

Ondo State

Ondo State

Ondo State, Nigeria was created on 3 February 1976 from the former Western State. It originally included what is now Ekiti State, which was split off in 1996. Akure is the state capital.

Government and society
The state contains eighteen Local Government Areas, the major ones being Akoko, Akure, Okitipupa, Ondo, and Owo. The majority of the state's citizens live in urban centers. The big government universities in Ondo state are the Federal University of Technology Akure, Akure and the Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba/Akoko.
The ethnic composition of Ondo State is largely from the Yoruba subgroups of the Akoko, Akure, Ikale, Ilaje, Ondo, and Owo. Ijaw minority (such as Apoi and Arogbo) and Ilaje populations inhabit the coastal areas; while a sizable number of the Ondo State people who speak a variant of the Yoruba language similar to Ife dialect reside in Oke-Igbo. These people are also Yorubas.
Ondo State contains the largest number of public schools in Nigeria - over 880 primary schools and 190 secondary schools.
List of Universities and Polytechnic in Ondo State
Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko
Ondo State University of Science and Technology, Okitipupa
Achievers University, Owo
Federal University of Technology Akure
Rufus Giwa Polytechnic, Owo
  Article "tagged" as:
view more articles

About Article Author

Ondo State
Cassie Duke

View More Articles